1862: Susannah Swartz to Corp. Henry S. Swartz

How Susannah might have looked

How Susannah might have looked

This letter was written by 19 year-old Susannah Swartz (1841-1911), the daughter of Charles Swartz (1815-1860) and Magdalena Margaret Slyder (1809-1853) of York County, Pennsylvania. Susannah married Martin Emig about 1863 or 1864, after which they resided in Dover Township, York County.

Suzannah wrote the letter to her older brother, Corporal Henry S. Swartz (1838-1916), of Company C, 166th Pennsylvania Regiment — a 9-month’s service unit. The regiment was organized at York between 24 October and 8 December 1862. They mustered out of the service 28 July 1863. Swartz was promoted to Sergeant on 15 January 1863.

[Note: This letter is heavily edited. It’s clear that Susannah had a limited education. She spelled her words phonetically.]

TRANSCRIPTION

[York County, Pennsylvania]
26 December 1862

Brother, I take my time and my pleasure to sit down to right a few lines to you that I am well at present and I hope that you are in the same state of health. Brother, it goes hard to write a letter to you because you are in so dangerous a place. I would sooner write to you if you would be some place else.

I got your likeness down [&] I showed it to old Mrs. Raffensberger. She cried and bid to you if you will only come safe back again. Brother, we never mind each other as much as we do now since we are so far apart. Every time that I see one of my brothers or sisters or mother, they ask when I got the last letter of you. They always wish to see you come safe back again. I bid to you to be a good boy because we can always hear or read that a good boy comes better through the world and a bad one, it seems to me, if it would be no more.

They are  marrying about here. Isaac, great God, married Sarah Myers. Rudy Sanders got married to a lady out of Wellsville. Manuel Traskell over in ____, the awfullest tomboy out in Berlin, Christ King up ____ forlorn. I don’t know the ladies name. Old Raffensberger and John Boling traded farms. John is going to move up till spring and Crist is going to move over at John Trimmer’s store and I am going to move down at George Groff.

I hired myself yesterday. I am staying here till spring. Then I am going away. I had been a fool long enough here. Last evening I got my certain. John was going to take me up to singing at ___town. It made Elizabeth R. cross that he didn’t take her along. She jawed awhile with him, then she went and jawed to the old folks they should let him take a horse. Then John came over and told me they are ____ so at home because he wants to take me to singing. I told ’em to take her along. He said he won’t do it to take her along. Then the old women came out on their front porch. The way they jawed, I was ashamed. It was full of people at the store and they all did hear her jawing and they all laughed at her.

I must close my letter; the paper gets too short. The people are all about here and we had no snow since you left York. We had ___ cold ___ and no rain since. It is raining tonight.

— Susannah

Don’t forget to answer me a letter back again. You don’t know how glad that we are when we hear of you.

About Griff

My passion is studying American history leading up to & including the Civil War. I particularly enjoy reading, transcribing & researching primary sources such as letters and diaries. View all posts by Griff

Leave a comment

Spared & Shared 21

Saving history one letter at a time.

Spared & Shared 20

Saving history one letter at a time

Notes on Western Scenery, Manners, &c.

by Washington Marlatt, 1848

Spared & Shared 19

Saving History One Letter at a Time

Recollections of Army Life

by Charles A. Frey

The Civil War Letters of William Kennedy

Co. B, 91st New York Infantry

The Glorious Dead

Letters from the 23rd Illinois Infantry, the 111th Pennsylvania Infantry, the 64th New York Infantry, and the 14th Pennsylvania Cavalry

Cornelius Van Houten

1st New Jersey Light Artillery

Letters of Charley Howe

36th Massachusetts Volunteers

Sgt. Major Fayette Lacey

Co. B, 37th Illinois Volunteers

"These few lines"

the pocket memorandum of Alexander C. Taggart

The Civil War Letters of Will Dunn

Co. F, 62nd Pennsylvania Volunteers

Henry McGrath Cannon

Co. A, 124th New York Infantry & Co. B, 16th New York Cavalry

Civil War Letters of Frederick Warren Holmes

Co. H, 77th Illinois Volunteers

"Though distant lands between us be"

Civil War Letters of Monroe McCollister, Co. B, 6th OVC

"Tell her to keep good heart"

Civil War Letters of Nelson Statler, 211th PA

Building Bluemont

The Origin of Bluemont Central College

"May Heaven Protect You"

14th Connecticut drummer boy's war-time correspondence with his mother

Moreau Forrest

Lt. Commander in the US Navy during the Civil War

Diary of the 29th Massachusetts Infantry

Fighting with the Irish Brigade during the Peninsula Campaign

"Till this unholy rebellion is crushed"

Letters of Dory & Morty Longwood, 7th Indiana

"I Go With Good Courage"

The Civil War Letters of Henry Clay Long, 11th Maine Infantry

"This is a dreadful war"

The Civil War Letters of Jacob Bauer, 16th Connecticut, & his wife Emily

Spared & Shared 16

Saving History One Letter at a Time

Lloyd Willis Manning Letters

3rd Massachusetts Heavy Artillery, Co. I

The Yankee Volunteer

A Virtual Archive of Civil War Likenesses collected by Dave Morin

William Henry Jordan

Co. K, 7th Rhode Island Infantry

No Cause to Blush

The Bancroft Collection of Civil War Letters

William A. Bartlett Civil War Letters

Company D, 37th Massachusetts Infantry

The John Hughes Collection

A Virtual Archive of his Letters, 1858-1869

The Civil War Letters of Rufus P. Staniels

Co. H, 13th New Hampshire Volunteers