1864: Robert Alexander Jenkins to Margaret Elizabeth Clewell

ols_df8_00801

Maggie (Clewell) Jenkins in later years

This letter was written by Robert Alexander Jenkins to Margaret Elizabeth Clewell (1840-1930), the daughter of John David Clewell (1804-1862) and Dorothea Matilda Schultz (1815-1908) of Salem, Forsyth County, North Carolina. Margaret’s brother, Augustus (“Gus”) Alexander Clewell (1845-1911), served as a Private in Company E, 21st Infantry Regiment (Confederate) of North Carolina and later in Company B, 1st Battalion Sharpshooters Regiment North Carolina on 26 Apr 1862. Margaret married Robert Alexander Jenkins (1839-1917).

Duke University Library houses a manuscript entitled “Endurin’ the War,” compiled by Gertrude Jenkins containing various reminiscences, including those of Robert Alexander Jenkins, a Confederate soldier, describing his adventures leaving his northern school in Pittsburgh, Pa., in 1859, the raid on the arsenal at Harper’s Ferry by John Brown, the battle of the C.S.S. Virginia with the U.S.S. Monitor, military engagements at Hanover Court House and Seven Pines, both in Virginia, the retreat of General Joseph E. Johnston through North Carolina, the last meeting of the Confederate government, and the final surrender at Bennett House, Durham, N.C.

The volume also contains the narrative of Margaret Elizabeth Clewell, future wife of Robert A. Jenkins, describing her journey from Salem Female Academy, Salem, N.C., to Fauquier County, Va., to nurse the sick of the 21st North Carolina Infantry, the hospital and care of the sick at Thoroughfair Gap, and the battlefield at Manassas.

aacivball97

TRANSCRIPTION
Addressed to Miss M. E. Clewell, Thomasville, Davidson Co., North Carolina
Care of Mr. J. W. Thomas

Camp near Kinston, North Carolina
October 30, 1864

My kindest, sweetest M,

The Sabbath rolls on and no church bell is heard near or far except in my imagination. The Bells of G.A. is heard with the peals of one in the quiet and peaceful town of Salem. Ah, how my heart longs to be once more within its confines and to see once more one of the finest daughters in whom my heart takes great delight. Alas, though for the hopes and aspirations of devotion in these times of uncertainty and trouble for it may be that I cannot get to see her in a long, long time, and affairs just now need nursing because she thinks that I am not in earnest. Therefore, I should see her as soon as possible to convince her that I am in earnest and that my love is true. I shall see here as soon as I leave camp before I go home and if the Gov. does not disband us in thirty days, I shall try and get a shot for ____ for the purpose. I certainly am more anxious to see see her than to go home but it pains me to think that I cannot see my sweet M.

I shall however do as you say. [I] know you have good reasons for advising me as you did. Still you know, dear, I would make the whole trip to see you yet. I hope some day for she and I may be with each other all the time. I have been looking for a letter from you for the past week but have not received one yet — but shall look for one tonight.

How comes on my friends in Thomasville and Salem? Have any gone to the war? I have not heard of any Salem folks down here. Perhaps they have not yet reported. I should not be surprised if they took a good many of us in the Confederate Army. Should they do so and I have to go in infantry, I shall try and get in the first battalion. Don’t you think it would be a good idea? Does Miss. M. still think that I am not in earnest?

When did you hear from __? Has he any hope of an exchange? I would like to see him. Is he well and G — how is he? What position does he hold? How does Anna go and how is Mrs. Houton and all friends? My love to Mrs. W, regards to friends and ___ to your affectionate brother.

— Robert

 

About Griff

My passion is studying American history leading up to & including the Civil War. I particularly enjoy reading, transcribing & researching primary sources such as letters and diaries. View all posts by Griff

Leave a comment

Spared & Shared 21

Saving history one letter at a time.

Spared & Shared 20

Saving history one letter at a time

Notes on Western Scenery, Manners, &c.

by Washington Marlatt, 1848

Spared & Shared 19

Saving History One Letter at a Time

Recollections of Army Life

by Charles A. Frey

The Civil War Letters of William Kennedy

Co. B, 91st New York Infantry

The Glorious Dead

Letters from the 23rd Illinois Infantry, the 111th Pennsylvania Infantry, the 64th New York Infantry, and the 14th Pennsylvania Cavalry

Cornelius Van Houten

1st New Jersey Light Artillery

Letters of Charley Howe

36th Massachusetts Volunteers

Sgt. Major Fayette Lacey

Co. B, 37th Illinois Volunteers

"These few lines"

the pocket memorandum of Alexander C. Taggart

The Civil War Letters of Will Dunn

Co. F, 62nd Pennsylvania Volunteers

Henry McGrath Cannon

Co. A, 124th New York Infantry & Co. B, 16th New York Cavalry

Civil War Letters of Frederick Warren Holmes

Co. H, 77th Illinois Volunteers

"Though distant lands between us be"

Civil War Letters of Monroe McCollister, Co. B, 6th OVC

"Tell her to keep good heart"

Civil War Letters of Nelson Statler, 211th PA

Building Bluemont

The Origin of Bluemont Central College

"May Heaven Protect You"

14th Connecticut drummer boy's war-time correspondence with his mother

Moreau Forrest

Lt. Commander in the US Navy during the Civil War

Diary of the 29th Massachusetts Infantry

Fighting with the Irish Brigade during the Peninsula Campaign

"Till this unholy rebellion is crushed"

Letters of Dory & Morty Longwood, 7th Indiana

"I Go With Good Courage"

The Civil War Letters of Henry Clay Long, 11th Maine Infantry

"This is a dreadful war"

The Civil War Letters of Jacob Bauer, 16th Connecticut, & his wife Emily

Spared & Shared 16

Saving History One Letter at a Time

Lloyd Willis Manning Letters

3rd Massachusetts Heavy Artillery, Co. I

The Yankee Volunteer

A Virtual Archive of Civil War Likenesses collected by Dave Morin

William Henry Jordan

Co. K, 7th Rhode Island Infantry

No Cause to Blush

The Bancroft Collection of Civil War Letters

William A. Bartlett Civil War Letters

Company D, 37th Massachusetts Infantry

The John Hughes Collection

A Virtual Archive of his Letters, 1858-1869

The Civil War Letters of Rufus P. Staniels

Co. H, 13th New Hampshire Volunteers