1864: Almon W. Gould to Friends at Home

How Almon might have looked

How Almon Gould might have looked

In August 1862 Almon W. Gould, the 27 year-old son of Owego Village blacksmith Adam C. Gould (1810-1895) and his wife Rebecca Adeline Arnold (1818-1884), joined Company H of the 109th New York Infantry Volunteers. For nearly the first two years of service, this unit saw little action as they were relegated to guarding the railroads around the Nation’s Capitol. After General Grant took command of the combined federal forces in the spring of 1864, the 109th New York was attached to General Burnside’s independent 9th Corps and moved with the Army of the Potomac into the Wilderness near Chancellorsville, Virginia.

According to company records, Corporal Almon W. Gould was wounded on May 5, 1864 — the first day the Federal forces encountered resistance from General Lee’s Army of Virginia. The following letter was written some three weeks later from Baltimore, Maryland where Almon and many other soldiers were convalescing from wounds received during the Battle of the Wilderness. Because it is not Almon’s first letter to his hometown of Owego after arriving in the hospital, it contains no details of his injuries nor an account of the engagement in which he was wounded. It does appear, however, that having seen “the elephant,” Almon was more anxious to return home than to return to his regiment.

The letter has been transcribed as written, with only minor corrections to punctuation. It should also be noted that the letter is dated May 1864 and the envelope is dated October 1864. The letter is not completely contained by the envelope so it may be safely presumed that the letter and the envelope were inadvertently mixed by some family member at a later date. The date on the envelope suggests that Almon Gould was still in Baltimore in October 1864 and had not rejoined his unit which had been engaged in many bloody contests with Lee’s army in what was the last major campaign of the war.

Almon’s parents were married about 1834 and lived in Nichols, Tioga County, New York in 1840. By 1850, the couple was living in Owego Village, New York where Adam worked as a blacksmith. They had (at least) the following children: Almon [born 1835], Morris [born 1837], Marion Delray [born 1856], and Fred [born 1861].

1864 Envelope

1864 Envelope

TRANSCRIPTION
Addressed to Mr. A. C. Gould, Owego, Tioga [County] N. Y.

Baltimore, Maryland
May 25, 1864

My friends at home,

I have just mailed a letter for you all and I thot I would comence a nother and wright when I had a steady hand. this morning is vary warm. I have just ben down to breakfast. it was vary good. The truble is that I am vary weke. I think that I will be all right in a few weeks. I would lik to see you all vary much but all things has its time. I will wait until home, then I will chat with you all a gain for a few moments.

Almon

May 26. I have changed bunks ¹ this morning. I am suited now. ever thing is so nice. I have got all cleane cloths. I mene under cloths. I am more contented than I was. I don’t worry as much as I did. I think I shall come home but it takes time for all things but do all you can I told you all that was nesary for me. to day I want you to send me all my letter that come direct in Mom’s care. I want all to wright to me that would like to here from me. I received that Paper all in time and it was just what I wanted. Send the next one as soon as they are out.

I want some one of you to send me ten postage stamps by the next letter. Don’t fer get one of our number died last knight, shot through the lungs but all the rest that came with me is doing well as can be expected. We have better living than we did. All right now, I want you all to keep up good spirits and hope for the best. You can direct all to me here as I shall stay here if I don’t come home, you may depend up on that. Good by to all at Home.

A[lmon] W. Gould

P.S. I am Plaid out [and] so neverous

 

¹ Regimental records state that Almon was mustered out of the service on 15 May 1865 at West Buildings Hospital, Baltimore, Maryland.

Notes on Almon W. Gould’s regiment:

109th Regiment, New York Infantry
Organized at Binghamton and mustered in August 27, 1862. Left State for Annapolis, Md., August 30, 1862. Attached to 8th Army Corps, Middle Department, to October, 1862. Railroad Guard, 22nd Army Corps, Dept. of Washington, to April, 1864. 1st Brigade, 3rd Division, 9th Army Corps, Army of the Potomac, to September, 1864. 1st Brigade, 1st Division, 9th Army Corps, to June, 1865.

SERVICE.-Guard railroad from Annapolis Junction, Md., to Washington, D. C., and garrison duty in the Defenses of Washington till April, 1864. Campaign from the Rapidan to the James May 3-June 15, 1864. Battles of the Wilderness May 5-7; Spottsylvania May 8-12; Spottsylvania Court House May 12-21. Assault on the Salient May 12. North Anna River May 23-26. Ox Ford May 23-24. On line of the Pamunkey May 26-28. Totopotomoy May 28-31. Cold Harbor June 1-12. Bethesda Church June 1-3. Before Petersburg June 16-18. Siege of Petersburg June 16, 1864, to April 2, 1865. Mine Explosion, Petersburg, July 30, 1864. Weldon Railroad August 18-21. Ream’s Station August 25. Poplar Springs Church, Peebles’ Farm, September 29-October 2. Reconnoissance on Vaughan and Squirrel Level Roads October 8. Boydton Plank Road, Hatcher’s Run, October 27-28. Fort Stedman March 25, 1865. Appomattox Campaign March 28-April 9. Assault on and fall of Petersburg April 2. Occupation of Petersburg April 2. Pursuit of Lee April 3-9. Surrender of Lee and his army at Appomattox Court House April 9. Moved to Washington, D. C., April 22-27, and duty there till June. Grand Review May 23. Mustered out June 4, 1865. Veterans and Recruits transferred to 51st New York Infantry.

Regiment lost during service 5 Officers and 160 Enlisted men killed and mortally wounded and 164 Enlisted men by disease. Total 329.

About Griff

My passion is studying American history leading up to & including the Civil War. I particularly enjoy reading, transcribing & researching primary sources such as letters and diaries. View all posts by Griff

Leave a comment

Spared & Shared 21

Saving history one letter at a time.

Spared & Shared 20

Saving history one letter at a time

Notes on Western Scenery, Manners, &c.

by Washington Marlatt, 1848

Spared & Shared 19

Saving History One Letter at a Time

Recollections of Army Life

by Charles A. Frey

The Civil War Letters of William Kennedy

Co. B, 91st New York Infantry

The Glorious Dead

Letters from the 23rd Illinois Infantry, the 111th Pennsylvania Infantry, the 64th New York Infantry, and the 14th Pennsylvania Cavalry

Cornelius Van Houten

1st New Jersey Light Artillery

Letters of Charley Howe

36th Massachusetts Volunteers

Sgt. Major Fayette Lacey

Co. B, 37th Illinois Volunteers

"These few lines"

the pocket memorandum of Alexander C. Taggart

The Civil War Letters of Will Dunn

Co. F, 62nd Pennsylvania Volunteers

Henry McGrath Cannon

Co. A, 124th New York Infantry & Co. B, 16th New York Cavalry

Civil War Letters of Frederick Warren Holmes

Co. H, 77th Illinois Volunteers

"Though distant lands between us be"

Civil War Letters of Monroe McCollister, Co. B, 6th OVC

"Tell her to keep good heart"

Civil War Letters of Nelson Statler, 211th PA

Building Bluemont

The Origin of Bluemont Central College

"May Heaven Protect You"

14th Connecticut drummer boy's war-time correspondence with his mother

Moreau Forrest

Lt. Commander in the US Navy during the Civil War

Diary of the 29th Massachusetts Infantry

Fighting with the Irish Brigade during the Peninsula Campaign

"Till this unholy rebellion is crushed"

Letters of Dory & Morty Longwood, 7th Indiana

"I Go With Good Courage"

The Civil War Letters of Henry Clay Long, 11th Maine Infantry

"This is a dreadful war"

The Civil War Letters of Jacob Bauer, 16th Connecticut, & his wife Emily

Spared & Shared 16

Saving History One Letter at a Time

Lloyd Willis Manning Letters

3rd Massachusetts Heavy Artillery, Co. I

The Yankee Volunteer

A Virtual Archive of Civil War Likenesses collected by Dave Morin

William Henry Jordan

Co. K, 7th Rhode Island Infantry

No Cause to Blush

The Bancroft Collection of Civil War Letters

William A. Bartlett Civil War Letters

Company D, 37th Massachusetts Infantry

The John Hughes Collection

A Virtual Archive of his Letters, 1858-1869

The Civil War Letters of Rufus P. Staniels

Co. H, 13th New Hampshire Volunteers