1862-65: Alfred Alverson Thayer to Annie (Spearman) Thayer

I could not find an image of Pvt. Thayer but here is a CDV of Sgt. Barclay Finley Irwin of Co. D, 96th OVI. (eBay Listing)

These letters were written by Pvt. Alfred Alverson Thayer (1838-1878) of Company C, 96th Ohio Infantry. Alfred enlisted in August 1862 in Company B but was transferred to Company C in November 1864. The regimental record says that Alfred was present for duty in the battles of Chickasaw Bayou, Arkansas Post, Vicksburg, and Jackson.

He became sick and was sent to a hospital at Memphis in August 1863 and returned to his company in December 1863. In March 1864, he became sick again and was sent to a hospital in New Orleans and returned to his company in September 1864. He was present for duty at Spanish Fort, Fort Blakeley, Mobile and Whistler. He was mustered out of the service in July 1865 at Mobile, Alabama.

Alfred was the son of Elias Parkman Thayer (1802-1873) and Lydia May Stinson (1804-1878). He was married to Anna Spearman (1842-1913) in 1864 (or earlier).

Alfred’s older brother, Isaiah Jackson Thayer (1833-1862) also served in Company B, 96th Ohio Infantry but died 2 September 1862 at Milliken’s Bend, Louisiana. He is buried at Vicksburg. Isaiah was married to Hannah Crowell (1836-1864) and left three children—Elias, Ann, and Ida. Elias died in September 1864 and tragically, Hanna also died in November 1864.

To read letters by other members of the 96th Ohio Infantry that I have transcribed and posted on Spared & Shared, go to:

William H. Scarbrough, Co. B, 96th Ohio (1 Letter)
Albert S. Coomer, Co. C, 96th Ohio (3 Letters)
Joseph C. Arnold, Co. E, 96th Ohio (3 Letters)

The Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History has 51 letters written by Pvt William H. Scarborough of Co. B, 96th Ohio Infantry.

There is a virtual cemetery of the 96th Ohio Volunteer Infantry with images of some of the soldiers on Find-A-Grave.

See also— Grapes & Catawba Wine on the Ohio: The 96th Ohio Defends Cincinnati,” Dan Masters’ Civil War Chronicles, dated 7 March 2021.

Letter 1

[Note: This letter is from the personal collection of Greg Herr and is published on Spared & Shared by express consent.]

[Newport, Kentucky]
Sunday the 21st, 1862

Ever dear wife,

Itis with pleasure that I take this opportunity to let you know that we are both well at present and hope that you are the same. I am tired. I just came off from picket about two miles from camp and could not get one [ ]. I was in Ohio yesterday across the river and Tom Parker went with me. I thought that I would tell you now how the people lives here. They don’t raise no grain of any account. A little corn but I hant seen no other grain excepting gardening. Potatoes go for 1.00 per bushel any amount and there is fields of grapes 10 cents per quart. Peaches are plenty at 2 per bushel. I never seen such a ugly country in my life. Such hills and no water—only from muddy springs—and we have to carry it about as far as Mr. Davis’ except what they haul from the river.

The roads run around the hills in the hollers and all fine stone rough as it is necessary to be and some of them the best roads I ever seen. They are as smooth as they can be. They are made out of some kind of limestone. They are as white as snow. There was two men out of each company detailed for artillery service in the fort right in sight of our company. The fort is a very large one and it is called Cit Michael.[?]

You spoke of me coming home before you left there. It is impossible for me to come now. we drill one hour before breakfast that we call squad drill, and then at nine we have company drill till eleven. Then at 3 we have battalion drill till 5 o’clock and then dress parade that lasts one hour. Then supper. Then at half past eight, roll call. At nine taps, lights out or go to the guard house.

George, we wrote to you and directed to Frederick to come and cook for our mess. Jack says if you come, go to his house and get a blanket. I think you will like it. That money is ready, 18 dollars per month. I want you all to keep up your spirits and do the best you can for I do that very little thing. I enjoy myself pretty well. I would like to give you a little kiss now. Direct to Newport, Kentucky in care of Capt. Bernard. 96th OVI Regiment. — A. A. Thayer


Letter 2

1862 Envelope
Addressed to Mrs. Annie Thayer, Mt. Vernon, Ohio

Memphis, Tennessee
December the 16, 1862

Ever dear wife,

It is with the great[est] pleasure that I have this opportunity to write to you to let you know that I am well excepting the earache—but not bad—& I hope these few lines may find you enjoying the same blessing of God.

I haven’t received only 2 letters from you since we got here & we have been here three weeks tomorrow so it seems like as if I wasn’t going to get anymore for I want to hear from Perry so bad.

I was on picket last Sunday. It was a very nice day but in the evening it clouded up & about 10 at night it began to rain. Just poured down. We were stationed in the woods in our squads—Harry [Harvey B.] Snediker, George [W.] Tish, two of the Roops [?] boys, Jack & myself—so there was a chicken coop close by & we broke for it and crept in & peeked out of the cracks & kept dry. In the morning, [it] still rained so we cooked breakfast in the coop too & the new pickets came. Then we broke for camp & it rained until noon. Our tent was all water & mud [but that did not scare us for we had seen that before. I always like to go on picket for we always have a good time.

I hardly know what to write that will be beneficial to you, only that man that shot his fingers off is going to get a discharge but it will be a dishonorable one because it is believed that he done it a purpose. I would die in the army than to get a dishonorable discharge.

The paper’s news is good here. Jeff Davis says if it ain’t settled by the first of next month, that they are gone in for the season. He picked out the smartest man he could & sent him to London to make a compromise for peace & offered to come back in the Union as before & each side pay their own debt. I don’t know any further about it.

There is another grand review today. It makes the boys mad to hear anything about a review. It is pretty hard to put on the knapsack & march a whole half a day to see some Colonel stand to look at us as we pass by him.

It was reported that the rebels had taken a brigade of our men but it ain’t so. Our men took a brigade of their men & have them here on the boat now & the boat is tied to the gun boat & it is an iron clad one. These iron clad look pretty savage seeing the old cannon sticking out all around.

__ Brock is well & sends his love to all. He received his mother’s likeness.

Ever dear wife, it has been four days since I commenced this letter & I thought I would finish. I was waiting to hear from you & I received a letter from you yesterday—the one that you & mother wrote on stating that William Spearman was sick away from home because I know that it will worry mother so bad but we must put our trust in the Lord & it will be alright in the end I hope.

I also received a letter from Mary & Wash stating they were well. It does me so much good to get a letter from home. Annie Jack says  that if you have any money to spare, if you will let Hannah have some, he will pay you when he gets his pay & there is some talk of getting our pay pretty soon now. But it is hard to tell. Give my love to father and mother Spearman & all inquiring friends & reserve a share for yourself.

Direct to the 96 Regiment, Company B in care of Captain [Joseph] Leonard, OVI. Put on “Follow the Regiment” because it is hard to tell where we will be in a week from now.

Ever dear wife, I must write to Perry. So no more at present. Write soon & often. From A. A. Thayer

The dearest to me in this world, may the Lord bless you & keep you safe till we meet again is my prayer. So good bye for this time.


Letter 3

1863 Letter
Addressed to Mrs. Annie Thayer, Mt. Vernon, Knox county, Ohio

January 8, 1863

Ever dear wife,

It is with the greatest pleasure that I have this time to write you a few lines to let you know that I am well at present & hope these few lines may find you the same. I hope that you have got better of the rheumatism before this time.

We have been running around on the river for a week. And they say tomorrow we are going up the river but I don’t know where. There is some batteries to take [and] the gunboats have gone up to see tonight & we expect to go in the morning. We have been working all day to chop & carry wood on the boat but we did not work very hard. We are pretty lazy.

Annie, you must keep up your spirits for I enjoy myself the best I can. I run around on the boat all the time. There is a good many sick just by laying around. They have the diarrhea & measles.

I think that the war is winding up as fast as it can. I think that I will be home again next spring if I live & I put my trust in the Lord for that. I know that I have the prayers of some friends at home too. Annie, tell Perry that I got that letter that he sent in with Hannah & was very sorry to hear that he was so bad. I would give the world to see him but I can’t now. If we never meet again on earth, I hope that we may meet in a better world where fighting will be no more. Put your trust in the Lord & he will do all for the best. You must not think hard of me for not writing oftener for we are rung around so much but we get to see a great deal.

Ever dear brother, keep in good spirits as you can. I was so glad to get a letter from you. We both send our love to you & we think of you very often. Every dear parents, you must not worry about us for we get along pretty well. I never have been sick a day yet. Jack has had the diarrhea but is better & we think we will get home to eat some of them molasses of yours. We are getting tired of riding on the boat. Write soon. Our love to all.

I was very sorry to hear that Jane Pickerd had been so sick & William, I was glad to hear that he had got home. Bill isn’t very well at present. He has the diarrhea. He sends his love to you all. Tell Emma & Annie I am very sorry that they can’t get time to write a letter.

Direct to the regiment, 96th [Ohio], Co. B, in care of Captain Leonard, OVI, to follow the regiment.

I must close for it is getting late. Loving wife, write soon. From — A. A. Thayer

To Mrs. Annie Thayer, the dearest to me in this world. Take care of yourself. I will write the particulars when I have more time. May the Lord bless you is my prayer. write soon. No more at present. So good bye. My love to all.


Letter 4

[Note: This letter is from the personal collection of Richard Weiner and is published on Spared & Shared by express consent.]

Addressed to Mrs. Annie Thayer, Mt. Vernon, Knox County, Ohio

In the rear of Vicksburg, Mississippi
July 3, 1863

Ever Dear Wife,

It is with pleasure that I have the chance to write you a few lines to let you know that I am well and hearty at present and feel thankful to God for it and I hope these few scribble lines may find you enjoying the same blessing. I hardly know what to write for I don’t get any more letters. There has been five mails that I haven’t got a word. But I hope that I will get one soon.

Well, Annie, there has been considerable excitement here today. The rebels ceased firing & pretty soon they raised the white flag & one general, one colonel, and one of their staff officers came to our lines on horseback. They dismounted and our officers took them & blindfolded them & took them to Headquarters. They stayed there a couple of hours, then led them back & let them go. What their business was, I don’t know. Some say to get to take their women & children out of Vicksburg & some say it is to make a surrender but I can’t tell. They are fine looking men. The names was [Major] General [John S.] Bowen and [Lieutenant] Colonel [Louis] Montgomery. I didn’t learn the other name.

The forts were thick with rebels. Our boys was up a talking with them so we are a having fine times today. I don’t know what it will amount to—I hope a surrender.

We have quit picketing in the rear and gone in front. Another regiment took our place. It is a very hard place to picket in front. We have to go at night & stay till the next night & ain’t allowed to lay down while we are there in the rifle pits. The dust is very bad & hot enough to roast a goose. Our guns got so hot that we could hardly hold them & [we] had to keep up a constant firing day and night to keep the rebels from throwing hand shells 2 into our fatigue men that was digging right up to their forts.

Annie, I don’t know what more to write but will write again soon. William Helt isn’t very good at present but I am in hopes he will be well before you get this letter. He joins with me in sending our love to all. May the Lord bless you is my prayer. Take good care of yourself.

[Added next morning]

Ever dear wife, it is with pleasure that I can write the surrender of Vicksburg. It was surrendered this morning at 10 o’clock, the 4th [of July]. You ought to [have] heard the cheering, It made many a heart beat with joy. The rebels came out of their forts & stack[ed] their arms. The number I can’t tell for we hain’t got to go in yet & I don’t know as we will. I don’t know what will be our lot yet but I will write soon & tell you more.

I had a bully dinner today—William and myself. We had a can of peaches, dry beef, fresh light dried crackers, tea and mustard & we enjoyed it the best kind & wished that you could help us eat them.

So I will close for this time. I am badly disappointed. I expected to get in Vicksburg but we have to start to Black River tonight at 4, distant 15 miles, up and down hill all the way.

1 In a letter to his mother penned on 3 July 1863, Lt. Thomas L. Evans of the 96th OVI wrote that the monotony was broken “about 8 o’clock this morning” by the cry that a flag of truce was coming. “In a few minutes we were up on the rifle pits and the rebel works & ours were covered with men. They lined up out of the pits and came into sight as if by magic. In a few minutes here came Gen. Bowen and Col. Montgomery, rebel bearers of dispatches from Gen. Pemberton to Gen. Grant. They passed us each blindfolded and led by a Federal officer. They, the Rebs, remained on their works while we remained on ours, in many places only a few yards apart but no conversations was allowed. However, they would stray off from both sides and get together & we have some curious specimens of conversation between them. Curiosity was on tip toe now. What was up? Did the rebels want to surrender? A thousand rumors were afloat, not one of which was believed. Thus things remained until about noon when the dispatch bearers returned to their own works & both armies hunted their holes…” Grant actually refused to meet with Gen. Bowen during this aforementioned flag of truce and yet Bowen returned to Pemberton to inform him that Grant was willing to discuss a surrender in an attempt to get the two commanders at least talking. It worked. Later in the day, Grant and Pemberton got together to discuss the terms of surrender. [See “An Ohio English Teacher Went to Fight in the Civil War…” by James Jewell, History Net, 20 May 2022.]

2 “Hand shells” were modified artillery shells that were hand thrown (see Ketchum Grenade).


Letter 5

[Note: This letter is from the personal collection of Greg Herr and is published on Spared & Shared by express consent.]

Marine Hospital
New Orleans
April 20th 1864

Ever dear wife,

It is with the greatest of pleasure that I have the privilege of writing you a few lines. My health is very good at present & I hope when this comes to hand, it will find you all the same. I received the packet you sent to me today. I was very much pleased with it. The likeness was very nice but yours ain’t as natural as Emma’s, I don’t think, do you? But I am very well suited. But the candy box with the negro is gay and the candy was drops is very good. The candy box I will keep & the handkerchief is very nice & this is one sheet of the paper & that little paper I haven’t opened but I expect is mustard. But I am very thankful to you for them. Bill sold the tobacco for 75 cents a plug and sent me the money. That was alright. He said he was out of stamps so he kept them but I can get them here & if I couldn’t, my letters would go. Tell Emma the boys thinks hern is very nice. I had sent up to the post office & express office but it wasn’t there. It was sent to the army corps hospital & there was a man brought it down to me.

Annie, I hardly know what more to get we haven’t got & it has been most two weeks. It is reported the rebs has got in behind them. I am afraid they will see pretty hard times yet. It is reported that the rebs has got in possession of Fort Pickens & are threatening Memphis. There is going to be very hard fighting this spring.

There has been several had their arms taken off here since the fight. One poor boy in my ward had his taken off today. The doctor asked him about it & he told them if they thought it best, it was right, so they put him under the influence of chloroform & examined it and the bone was all splintered from his elbow close to the shoulder and a piece of the ball in so they took it off but he didn’t never jerk a muscle. It was his right arm & they took it off close to the shoulder. Poor boy. He was a New York boy & a new recruit.

Annie, if you can get any news from the army, write it for we can’t get any. The boys is getting well fast. We have 16 vacant beds now. Some going to their regiments & some furloughed & some discharged.

But i guess I couldn’t get away very well for they wouldn’t let me go if they could help it. Annie, it is after 3 & I must stop and dress the wounds. I think of you when you are in bed asleep. I wish I could give you a thousand kisses tonight. I haven’t had no letter for several days. With this, I close. Write soon. Give my love to all. From your true husband til death. — A. A. Thayer

Marine Hospital, New Orleans, La.


Letter 6

[Note: This letter is from the personal collection of Greg Herr and is published on Spared & Shared by express consent.]

Marine Hospital
New Orleans, La.
April 22, 1864

Ever dear & loving wife,

It is with great pleasure that I sit down to answer your letters & also to let you know how I am. My health is better & I get along first rate & I hope you are the same.

I sat up the later part of the night last night & felt a little sleepy so I went to bed and slept til near noon & the mail came & there was 3 letters for me—one from you & one from Emma, & one from Mary Singer with hers Lucy’s photograph both on one card & it was very nice, I tell you. They went to the regiment & were mailed but day before yesterday. I got an answer to the first and I wrote after I come here which was wrote to [ ] & had one dollar in…

There is one boy come from the regiment since. We lost in our regiment 57 men, 2 of our company killed—Owen Walters of Fredericktown, Jacob Fester of Gamber. George Comer, John Trussell, Samuel stacks, missing, but the rest of the company he didn’t know but he said Bill Brock was all right. Dr. Hess prisoner. I was very sorry to hear that Henry Louderburgh was dead.

Annie, the patients is very restless tonight. Sometimes I can’t write a line till some man will holler nurse…Our ward is full again. There was one of the old nurses told me today I could stay just as long as I wanted to. It is a place they must have men but it seems to me if I get well that my place is in the field. Tell Emma I will probably answer her letter tomorrow.

…From your husband, till death, — A. A. Thayer


Letter 7

[Note: This letter is from the personal collection of Greg Herr and is published on Spared & Shared by express consent.]

U. S, Marine Hospital
New Orleans, Louisiana
May 11th 1864

Dear Annie,

I thought I would write you a few lines to let you know how I am. My health is very good at present so I feel to thank our heavenly father for it. I hope these few lines ay find you all enjoying the same blessing. Annie, I received a letter from you today of April 28th so you see it doesn’t take such a long time to get a letter & I was very glad to hear from you. you spoke of Bill selling that tobacco. The reason he sold it he said was he could not send it very well but if my mouth has been sore I can chew all the time. The side I carry my tobacco has never got sore yet & my mouth got so I thought it was well but it is near as bad as ever. I don’t know the reason but I am fat as I was when I was home if not fatter. I enjoy good health. I had a spell of the shakes last week.

Annie, you think I had better stay here [in the hospital] if I can. I think I can stay as long as I want to & probably will stay awhile. The Dr. was in the other night and he asked the boy nurse if I was a good nurse. He told him I was one of the best so the Dr. asked me how I liked it. I told him I guess I would stay till I got the chills broken up & he put his arm round me & said I had better make up my mind to stay with him & I guess I will for awhile. But you mustn’t think of coming down for it would kill you to come down here in the hot weather & it is getting pretty warm here now. It will be pretty bad for some of them home guards to leave for it is in a bad time of the year. But never mind one crop if will help put down the rebellion for anything to get rid of that for I think when this war is over, there will be lots of glad hearts & lots of sad ones.

You spoke of not getting the particulars of the battle. Neither have we & never will for it was so badly managed they will keep it to themselves if possible. You said that you hadn’t heard from Wm. since I left the regiment. I have had 2 or 3 letters from him—one since the fight. He was well & hearty then but according to all accounts, they are seeing pretty hard times. It is the talk that they are nearly surrounded. Just as soon as they can get out, the expedition will be over for they will get out as quick as they can.

I was sorry to hear that Emily had been sick. You need not be afraid to write for the letters come right through. I don’t know what more to write this time. The patients is all very quiet tonight.

Annie, you mustn’t expect long letters but if nothing happens, I will write often. So no more at present but remain your husband, — A. A. Thayer

My love to all. Write soon. Direct as usual. Goodbye. Take good care of yourself & enjoy yourself the best you can for that’s the way I do.


Letter 8

[Note: This letter is from the personal collection of Greg Herr and is published on Spared & Shared by express consent.]

Camp of 96th OVI
Morganza Bend, Louisiana
September 8th 1864

Ever dear Annie,

It is with pleasure that I take this opportunity to let you know that I am well, hoping this may find you all well.

The 9th. Well, Annie, I had to quit to get a gun and clean it up & just got through. It was a job for it had been in the salt water. It was awful.

Annie, it is very hard to tell what we will do for the regiment, most all, have the scurvy and the talk is that the regiment is going to be reported unfit for duty and if not, we will go to reinforce Steele up White River in a day or two. The regiment was dirty, ragged. If I ever was sick of sogering it was when I came to the regiment at New Orleans. Our regiment and the 23 west [ ] on an old transport the [ ] thick as they could stand & the boat was dirty as a hog pen but we only were on her two miles & I slept with Billy on his mess chests so I got along very ewll but it looked pretty hard after having a clean bed. But we have a very good camp, clean & nice, close to the river & very nice springs. But it ain’t ice water at the old mansion. But I’m out to soger awhile for I have had a very nice time. I was in the Marine [hospital] five months & 19 days but it weren’t like lining home for it [made] me feel bad to leave the boys. They were a jolly set. It was the gayest crowd that ever left the house—all clerks & nurses most, but there are many of them I never expect to see again but will always remember them.

Annie, I received a letter from you on the 21st & was very glad to hear from you but was sorry that you were so unwell & that you were in such bad spirits. Keep up your spirits & think it won’t be but a little while till I get home. Annie, you spoke of me doing better if I were single. If I was single and knew just what I now [know], I would marry you if you would. I married you because I loved you & that love is the same today or a little more so.

That letter I wrote to Justy, you say was direct to Lucy that I wrote understand for I certainly did direct to Justy….

Annie, there is 19 out of 23 in our company that has got the scurvy but I think [illegible]…Annie, there ain’t very many troops here now. There has been about 8 thousand gone to reinforce Steele. The boys keep in good spirits. You wouldn’t believe how well they keep up but that’s the way.

I don’t know any news worth writing for you will ….before you get this later. I will close …A. A. Thayer


Letter 9

1865 Letter
Addressed to Mrs. Annie Thayer, Mt. Vernon, Knox county, Ohio

96 Battalion, Ohio Volunteer Infantry
January 6, 1865

White River Landing, Arkansas

Ever Dear Wife,

It is with pleasure that I take my pen in hand this morning to answer your kind & welcome letter of the 27th. It found me well & hearty & was very glad to hear that you was so well & fat, but very sorry to hear that mother & Emma was so sick. I hadn’t heard of Emma being sick before & you said she was pretty sick but didn’t say where she was or how long she had been sick but I think by the way the letter read you must of written about her before but this is all I got.

I was on picket when the mail came but my partner brought it out to me & there was a candy heart but it was broken so when I came in, Bill came over so I gave him a piece & my partner & a piece myself, so we dispose of it.

Col. Brown
Col. Albert H. Brown

I was very glad you had such a good dinner for I had a pleaded dinner but you know what I had before this time [on] New Years for Dan wanted me to eat with him but I went over to help Billy get dinner & just about the time we got dinner ready, he was taken with a chill & went to bed so I call them to dinner & waited on them. We had a god dinner & a splendid turkey. I would get along pretty well but there is one woman in the mess & I am afeared of women but we got through very well. Then I had to stay & eat & see to things. I done up the dishes, then went over & eat a little with Dan. He had a very nice dinner. By that time, it was near supper & the adjutant was hunting for me to get supper & wash up the dishes & Billy didn’t get up till after dark. The adjutant [Louis H. Mitchell] said he didn’t know how they would get along if it hadn’t been for me & the Colonel [Albert H. Brown] told Billy to have me there whenever he wanted & to tell me to eat there whenever I wanted to. But he has been alright since. He hasn’t had any more [chills].

You said you wish I had some of your sausage to eat with my hard tack. They would be very good but not much hard tack I eat for old Dan always has a loaf for me when hard tacks come. My partner & me has 4 pounds of bread on hand now & will get 2 more in the morning & about 6 days of crackers on the shelf but the rest haven’t got so much. They ran out & we give. They can’t tell how we get ahead so Dan sends out pie & cake to me when I am on picket.

I was very glad that Bill Spearman had quit for when he gets good wage. Annie, you be careful with yourself as you cannot expose yourself more than you can help. I am in hopes before you get this letter that mother & Emma will be well.

Annie, we haven’t had very cold weather yet. It has froze enough to hold up a wagon but my gloves is alright. The old …. there will be lots more like him when we get out of the service. The health of the boys is very good & I expect we will stay here all winter. I hope so, We have it hard part of the time when there is no other regiment here. But the 161st New York is here. They picket three days to us one but they are under marching orders now.

With this I close. Write often as you can. From your true husband, — A. A. Thayer

My love to all. Good bye. Bill & Dan are well & send their love to all.

About Griff

My passion is studying American history leading up to & including the Civil War. I particularly enjoy reading, transcribing & researching primary sources such as letters and diaries. View all posts by Griff

Leave a comment

Spared & Shared 21

Saving history one letter at a time.

Spared & Shared 20

Saving history one letter at a time

Notes on Western Scenery, Manners, &c.

by Washington Marlatt, 1848

Spared & Shared 19

Saving History One Letter at a Time

Recollections of Army Life

by Charles A. Frey

The Civil War Letters of William Kennedy

Co. B, 91st New York Infantry

The Glorious Dead

Letters from the 23rd Illinois Infantry, the 111th Pennsylvania Infantry, the 64th New York Infantry, and the 14th Pennsylvania Cavalry

Cornelius Van Houten

1st New Jersey Light Artillery

Letters of Charley Howe

36th Massachusetts Volunteers

Sgt. Major Fayette Lacey

Co. B, 37th Illinois Volunteers

"These few lines"

the pocket memorandum of Alexander C. Taggart

The Civil War Letters of Will Dunn

Co. F, 62nd Pennsylvania Volunteers

Henry McGrath Cannon

Co. A, 124th New York Infantry & Co. B, 16th New York Cavalry

Civil War Letters of Frederick Warren Holmes

Co. H, 77th Illinois Volunteers

"Though distant lands between us be"

Civil War Letters of Monroe McCollister, Co. B, 6th OVC

"Tell her to keep good heart"

Civil War Letters of Nelson Statler, 211th PA

Building Bluemont

The Origin of Bluemont Central College

"May Heaven Protect You"

14th Connecticut drummer boy's war-time correspondence with his mother

Moreau Forrest

Lt. Commander in the US Navy during the Civil War

Diary of the 29th Massachusetts Infantry

Fighting with the Irish Brigade during the Peninsula Campaign

"Till this unholy rebellion is crushed"

Letters of Dory & Morty Longwood, 7th Indiana

"I Go With Good Courage"

The Civil War Letters of Henry Clay Long, 11th Maine Infantry

"This is a dreadful war"

The Civil War Letters of Jacob Bauer, 16th Connecticut, & his wife Emily

Spared & Shared 16

Saving History One Letter at a Time

Lloyd Willis Manning Letters

3rd Massachusetts Heavy Artillery, Co. I

The Yankee Volunteer

A Virtual Archive of Civil War Likenesses collected by Dave Morin

William Henry Jordan

Co. K, 7th Rhode Island Infantry

No Cause to Blush

The Bancroft Collection of Civil War Letters

William A. Bartlett Civil War Letters

Company D, 37th Massachusetts Infantry

The John Hughes Collection

A Virtual Archive of his Letters, 1858-1869

The Civil War Letters of Rufus P. Staniels

Co. H, 13th New Hampshire Volunteers