1862: Jonas Horn to Andrew Horn

I could not find an image of Jonas but here is one of John Conn who served in Co H, 85th Pennsylvania Infantry (Photo Sleuth)

These letters were written by 39 year-old Private Jonas Horn (1823-1907) of Co. D, 85th Pennsylvania Infantry. Jonas was discharged on a surgeon’s certificate on 24 November 1862.

It is believed that Jonas Horn was the son of Jacob Horn (1786-1858) and his wife Mary (1784-1853). He wrote the letter to his brother Andrew Horn (b. 1825). There were several other soldiers in the same company by the name of Horn who were probably Jonas’ cousins. One of them, Hezekiah Horn, we learn, was wounded in 1862 though the particulars are obliterated by an excision of the patriotic engraving in the letterhead. We know that Elias Horn was transferred to the Veteran Reserve Corps on 16 March 1864, probably after suffering a wound.

The 85th Pennsylvania was organized in the fall of 1861 and served their time around Washington until March 1862 when they moved to the Peninsula and saw action at the Battle of Williamsburg and the Battle of Seven Pines (Fair Oaks). Horn’s description of his “narrow escape” in Letter 1 came during the Battle of Fair Oaks when the Union troops were hit hard by Stonewall’s men.

William H. Horn, the captain of Company D, was the son of George and Eleanor Horn of Zollarsville, Washington County, Pennsylvania. Capt. William H. Horn married Emily (“Emma”) Zollars in 1863.

Letter 1

aacivforte1
Addressed to Mr. Andrew Horn, Zollarsville, Washington County, Pennsylvania

Poplar Hill, Virginia
June 22nd 1862

Dear Brother,

I send you a few lines this morning to let you know that I am still living and well, hoping that you may all read these few lines in good health.

We had a narrow escape for our lives in the last battle. Our company was on picket when the rebels made the attack. We had to stand our ground till the enemy was within fifty yards of us. We was overpowered about ten to one and we had to give away. But he 85th stood their ground till they killed 480 of them and wounded four times that number while our loss in killed and wounded and missing will not exceed one hundred.

There is different statements about Hezekiah [Horn] but I think from what I can [learn he] was wounded in the thigh [and is] now in the hospital in [?]. This is all that I can tell [?] at this time.

I received [your letter] of the 9th and was glad [to hear] you are getting along [so well. It] is more than we can [say here]. We have a great deal of [sickness] at this time. We have Doctor ______ for our doctor and I think we will soon recruit up again for we have had no doctor for the last five weeks.

Elias [Horn] has been sick but is now a getting well and will soon be able for duty again. We have had hard times since the battle for we lost all our clothes but what we had on our backs. I have but one shirt that I brought from home but we expect to draw soon.

I would like to be at home to help with the harvest but that is out of the question so I will quit the subject.

I give my pocket book to T. J. Hathaway ¹ when I left Camp Scott. He was sick at that time and has since went home and died at his father’s the 12th day of this month and I want you to go there and get it. There was twenty-five dollars in money in it and a note on Bowen Rees for thirteen dollars. His father’s name is Jacob Hathaway. He lives about a mile from Plumpsock in Morris Township on the creek above Amity.

I would write oftener if I could get the stamps. I want you to write as soon as you find out about my pocket book and let me know if you got it and the contents.

I will bring this to a close by saying that I still remain your affectionate brother till death. Adieu.

Jonas Horn to Andrew Horn

¹ Thomas Jefferson Hathaway (1833-1862) was the son of Jacob Hathaway (1801-1882) and Jane Powers (1803-1896).


Letter 2

[Harrisons Landing, Virginia]
July the 20, 1862

I received your letter and I was glad to hear from home. I am well at this time and I hope these few lines may find you in the same state of health. We are camped one mile from the James river in the woods. We have to get up in the morning before daylight and form a battle line. There will be no firing done for sixty days. Hezekiah [Horn] is taken prisoner. He is in North Carolina. He will be at home as soon as we will.

We have to go out on picket. We was out one night and it was raining. Me and Harry [were] lying under a log. It is now Sunday. We have got preaching every Sunday at eleven o’clock.

I sent twenty dollars in this letter and you may keep. it or put it on interest. I have got ten dollars more to send. I haven’t got much to write at this time. I want to know if Mary Ann is well. You never write about her. I would like to see her.

I must come to a close with my letter. I want you to write soon and tell me if you got this money. So goodbye, brother Andrew. — Jonas Horn


Letter 3

[Harrison’s Landing, Va.]
August the 4th 1862

I received your letter on the 1st of this month and was glad to hear from you and I am well at this present time and Elias is well. Harvey too.

I sent you a letter with twenty dollars in it. I want to know if you got it. I haven’t much to write now at this time. There ain’t much a going on now. You wrote in your letter that you got a mowing machine. I want to know if you bought one. No more on this.

We go down the river and take a swim. The river is two miles wide.

Everything is dear here. Butter is 50 cents a pound. Cheese 50 cents, and one dollar a quart of Stute [?] and cheese 50 cents a pound. We have cannons mounted on our breastworks that throw a shell seven miles.

We was out on picket the other night and the gnats was so bad that they stung me so that my hands and face swelled up so that I couldn’t see.

Our colonel is very [ ]. He is sick now. We drill every day. It is hot here with our woolen shirt. I must come to a close. So goodbye, Andrew.

— Jonas Horn


Letter 4

[Suffolk, Va.]
September the 24th 1862

Dear brother,

I take my pen in hand to let you know that I am well at his present time and I hope these few lines may find you in the same state of health. I received your letter on the 15th of this month with five dollars in it. I was very glad. I couldn’t write any sooner than I did.

We are in Suffolk. All the men in this town went to the Rebel army. The women here looks like a pumpkin that was frost bitten. I am on guard every day.

I want to know how you are getting along here at home. I want to know how the corn crops is.

We have all the Rebels all drove back again. No more on this.

We draw soft bread here. I don’t know anything about Elias. Where he is, I haven’t heard from him since he left. We are about forty miles from the North Carolina line. It is very hot here and cold nights. No more on this.

I must come to a close with my letter. I want you to write soon. I like to hear from home. I would like to see you all. So I must come to a close. Goodbye Mary and Andrew and Alexander and all, — Jonas Horn

About Griff

My passion is studying American history leading up to & including the Civil War. I particularly enjoy reading, transcribing & researching primary sources such as letters and diaries. View all posts by Griff

Leave a comment

Spared & Shared 21

Saving history one letter at a time.

Spared & Shared 20

Saving history one letter at a time

Notes on Western Scenery, Manners, &c.

by Washington Marlatt, 1848

Spared & Shared 19

Saving History One Letter at a Time

Recollections of Army Life

by Charles A. Frey

The Civil War Letters of William Kennedy

Co. B, 91st New York Infantry

The Glorious Dead

Letters from the 23rd Illinois Infantry, the 111th Pennsylvania Infantry, the 64th New York Infantry, and the 14th Pennsylvania Cavalry

Cornelius Van Houten

1st New Jersey Light Artillery

Letters of Charley Howe

36th Massachusetts Volunteers

Sgt. Major Fayette Lacey

Co. B, 37th Illinois Volunteers

"These few lines"

the pocket memorandum of Alexander C. Taggart

The Civil War Letters of Will Dunn

Co. F, 62nd Pennsylvania Volunteers

Henry McGrath Cannon

Co. A, 124th New York Infantry & Co. B, 16th New York Cavalry

Civil War Letters of Frederick Warren Holmes

Co. H, 77th Illinois Volunteers

"Though distant lands between us be"

Civil War Letters of Monroe McCollister, Co. B, 6th OVC

"Tell her to keep good heart"

Civil War Letters of Nelson Statler, 211th PA

Building Bluemont

The Origin of Bluemont Central College

"May Heaven Protect You"

14th Connecticut drummer boy's war-time correspondence with his mother

Moreau Forrest

Lt. Commander in the US Navy during the Civil War

Diary of the 29th Massachusetts Infantry

Fighting with the Irish Brigade during the Peninsula Campaign

"Till this unholy rebellion is crushed"

Letters of Dory & Morty Longwood, 7th Indiana

"I Go With Good Courage"

The Civil War Letters of Henry Clay Long, 11th Maine Infantry

"This is a dreadful war"

The Civil War Letters of Jacob Bauer, 16th Connecticut, & his wife Emily

Spared & Shared 16

Saving History One Letter at a Time

Lloyd Willis Manning Letters

3rd Massachusetts Heavy Artillery, Co. I

The Yankee Volunteer

A Virtual Archive of Civil War Likenesses collected by Dave Morin

William Henry Jordan

Co. K, 7th Rhode Island Infantry

No Cause to Blush

The Bancroft Collection of Civil War Letters

William A. Bartlett Civil War Letters

Company D, 37th Massachusetts Infantry

The John Hughes Collection

A Virtual Archive of his Letters, 1858-1869

The Civil War Letters of Rufus P. Staniels

Co. H, 13th New Hampshire Volunteers