1863: William McCord to Thomas Jefferson McCord, Jr.

How William McCord might have looked

How William McCord might have looked

This letter was written by 21 year-old William McCord (1842-18xx) of Company I, 8th Missouri Infantry. He was the son of Thomas Jefferson McCord (1810-1853) and Mary Ann Layton (1813-1889) of Knox County, Illinois. William wrote the letter to his brother, Thomas Jefferson McCord, Jr. (1840-18xx) of Canton, Fulton County, Illinois. He mentions his sister, Annie Rebecca McCord (1843-1935) in the letter as well. Annie married Samuel C. Varner in September 1863 in Farmington, Illinois.

The 8th Missouri Infantry was organized in the late summer of 1861 and was composed of men recruited from both sides of the Missouri Rover. This was because Illinois easily met their quotas for volunteers but pro-Southern Missouri’s split loyalties caused them to come up short in supplying soldiers for the Union army. They wore the Zouave uniform and served with distinction during the Civil War, fighting decisive battles under Generals Grant and Sherman.

1863 Envelope

1864 Envelope (does not go with letter)

TRANSCRIPTION

Memphis, Tennessee
November 3, 1863

Dear Brother,

I seat myself to write you a few lines to let you know that I am in a little better health than when I last wrote to you.

I received your letter and money and was glad to receive it. It will help me along till I get my money.

We was mustered the 31st November for pay and I think that we will get it before long. I have now ten months pay a coming to me — $130 dollars — which I will send you about $100 of it and you can do what you want to with it. I will send it by Express and will send you a letter at the same time so that you will know that I have sent it. If I have money enough to keep me in tobacco and other little things, that is all that I care about.

The weather is getting cool. We have had several frosts and one little snow which I never expected to see in Tennessee. We are fixed for cold weather. We have got a young city out in East Memphis. You would laugh to see the brick and log houses that 8th Missouri has built to winter in. We have big fire places in our houses and we are living at home now but I can’t tell how long we will stay here. We may stay all winter and we may not stay two weeks. It is hard for a soldier to tell one day where he will be the next.

I haven’t heard from [sister] Ann for some time — only what others has wrote. I heard about you being up to Yates City [Illinois] but I shan’t tell you who told me. I should like to be there for awhile myself but I don’t [see] any chance till this war is settled and that may not be till my time is out and I know that they can’t keep me any longer. If they leave us stay here at this post till the war is over, I will be satisfied.

I would like to have you to come down and see me but it costs too much money. It would cost you 40 dollars to come down here and go back.

The boys are all fixing to go to a funeral — one of our regiment got killed. I don’t know yet whether I will go or not. The health of the troops here is good.

I guess that I have told you about all the news — only William Van Pelt ¹ is about dead with the clap. Keep this to yourself.

So I will close by asking you to write soon and oblige your brother, — William McCord

¹ Pvt. William M. Van Pelt was absent sick in October and November 1863. He died 26 November 1863 in the General Hospital at Memphis, Tennessee. He is buried in Section H, Grave No 4322 in Memphis National Cemetery.

 

About Griff

My passion is studying American history leading up to & including the Civil War. I particularly enjoy reading, transcribing & researching primary sources such as letters and diaries. View all posts by Griff

Leave a comment

Spared & Shared 21

Saving history one letter at a time.

Spared & Shared 20

Saving history one letter at a time

Notes on Western Scenery, Manners, &c.

by Washington Marlatt, 1848

Spared & Shared 19

Saving History One Letter at a Time

Recollections of Army Life

by Charles A. Frey

The Civil War Letters of William Kennedy

Co. B, 91st New York Infantry

The Glorious Dead

Letters from the 23rd Illinois Infantry, the 111th Pennsylvania Infantry, the 64th New York Infantry, and the 14th Pennsylvania Cavalry

Cornelius Van Houten

1st New Jersey Light Artillery

Letters of Charley Howe

36th Massachusetts Volunteers

Sgt. Major Fayette Lacey

Co. B, 37th Illinois Volunteers

"These few lines"

the pocket memorandum of Alexander C. Taggart

The Civil War Letters of Will Dunn

Co. F, 62nd Pennsylvania Volunteers

Henry McGrath Cannon

Co. A, 124th New York Infantry & Co. B, 16th New York Cavalry

Civil War Letters of Frederick Warren Holmes

Co. H, 77th Illinois Volunteers

"Though distant lands between us be"

Civil War Letters of Monroe McCollister, Co. B, 6th OVC

"Tell her to keep good heart"

Civil War Letters of Nelson Statler, 211th PA

Building Bluemont

The Origin of Bluemont Central College

"May Heaven Protect You"

14th Connecticut drummer boy's war-time correspondence with his mother

Moreau Forrest

Lt. Commander in the US Navy during the Civil War

Diary of the 29th Massachusetts Infantry

Fighting with the Irish Brigade during the Peninsula Campaign

"Till this unholy rebellion is crushed"

Letters of Dory & Morty Longwood, 7th Indiana

"I Go With Good Courage"

The Civil War Letters of Henry Clay Long, 11th Maine Infantry

"This is a dreadful war"

The Civil War Letters of Jacob Bauer, 16th Connecticut, & his wife Emily

Spared & Shared 16

Saving History One Letter at a Time

Lloyd Willis Manning Letters

3rd Massachusetts Heavy Artillery, Co. I

The Yankee Volunteer

A Virtual Archive of Civil War Likenesses collected by Dave Morin

William Henry Jordan

Co. K, 7th Rhode Island Infantry

No Cause to Blush

The Bancroft Collection of Civil War Letters

William A. Bartlett Civil War Letters

Company D, 37th Massachusetts Infantry

The John Hughes Collection

A Virtual Archive of his Letters, 1858-1869

The Civil War Letters of Rufus P. Staniels

Co. H, 13th New Hampshire Volunteers