1863-64: John Bolling Cochran to E. Jane Hardman

I could not find an image of Cochran, but here is one of James W. McCulloch of Co. E, 7th Georgia Infantry (LOC)

These letters were written by 28 year-old John Bolling Cochran (1835-1910), the son of Seaborn Cochran (1804-1892) and Clara (“Clary”) Harris (1808-1864) of DeKalb County, Georgia. He married Mary Elizabeth Shaw (1846-Aft1910) in November 1866 in Henry County, Georgia.

John B. Cochran served in Co. E, 7th Georgia Infantry. The regiment was raised in May 1861 by recruiting its members from several different counties, including DeKalb County. The 7th Georgia participated in the Battle of Bull Run and in April 1862 was placed under the command of “Tige” Anderson until the end of the war. At Gettysburg, the 8th Georgia lost 172 of 312 soldiers they took into the battle, most of them in the wheat field in Cemetery Ridge on 2 July 1863. This letter was written at the time the regiment was going on detached service with Longstreet.

John wrote the letters to his cousin Jane Hardman (1840-1905), the daughter of John Hardman (1793-1879) and Mary (“Polly”) Cochran (1798-1871).

John mentions the “Powells” of his company. There were several soldiers by that name in Company E: James Powell, George Powell, John J. Powell, and Leonard C. Powell.

Letter 1

1863 Letter
Addressed to Miss E. J. Hardman, Stone Mountain P. O., Georgia

Camp near Richmond, Virginia
March 6th 1863

Miss E. J. Hardman
Dear Cousin,

I take the pleasure this morning to write you a few lines to inform you that I am well and I am in hopes that these few lines will reach you soon and find you enjoying the same blessing and the rest of the family also.

Cousin, I have nothing much to write more than I should be very glad to hear of the war ending, but I don’t hear no talk of peace in this country. We are camped four miles from Richmond on the south side of [the] James River and I suppose that we will go farther south in a short time toward Petersburg somewhere about North Carolina.

Cousin, I would like very well to be back in old Georgia for I can enjoy myself a great deal better there than I can here in camps. I should like very well to be at another candy party if it was in my reach. Jane, the Powells boys is well.

Cousin, you must speak a good word to all the girls for me and Miss Molley especially. Cousin, I never expect to see you all anymore until the war ends, if I am spared to live till that time, and I am in hopes that I shall be spared to see you all one more time. Cousin, you must write soon and write all the news. Give Uncle and Aunt my best respects.

Goodbye to you all. — J. B. Cochran


Letter 2

Addressed to Miss E. J. Hardman, Stone Mountain, Ga.

Camp near Dalton
April 30th 1864

Miss Eliza Jane Hardman
Dear Cousin,

These few lines will show that I and Bill and all the rest of the boys is well, hoping these few lines may reach you safe and find you and the rest all well. Cousin, I received your very kind letter on yesterday which was read with great pleasure.

Cousin, we was in line of battle when I received your letter. We have moved our camp four miles above Dalton on the front line and we are a looking for a fight here shortly. We were called out yesterday but we returned back to camp. Jane, I had rather sit back & chew tobacco than to fight the Yankees for I had rather do anything else than to fight the damned blue bellies for there is some danger in fighting of them and I know there is no danger of the ducks a spitting in my face. Cousin, there is no talk of peace up here but talk a plenty of fighting.

Cousin, I would be very glad to see Miss Mosey. You may be sure of that. I had rather see her than another girl in DeKalb county. I have heard from her since I came back and she has written nice.

Jane, you must write as soon as you can for I like to hear from you. John Mash is well and Newton is still a smoking yet. Cousin, give me all the news there is in that country. Edward Kit___ got back [this] morning. He is sure married. I suppose he did hate to leave his dear little wife. I know that I would. Jane, I got a letter from the [government?] Ranger the other day. Enough of that. I say Bully for Mrs. Bradin and Mr. Lee. I know there is some chance for me now. I must stop for this time. Jane, I must stop with the hopes of hearing from you. Give all my best respects and give yourself a propotional part. Nothing more. Yours with respect, — J. B. Cochran

About Griff

My passion is studying American history leading up to & including the Civil War. I particularly enjoy reading, transcribing & researching primary sources such as letters and diaries. View all posts by Griff

Leave a comment

Spared & Shared 21

Saving history one letter at a time.

Spared & Shared 20

Saving history one letter at a time

Notes on Western Scenery, Manners, &c.

by Washington Marlatt, 1848

Spared & Shared 19

Saving History One Letter at a Time

Recollections of Army Life

by Charles A. Frey

The Civil War Letters of William Kennedy

Co. B, 91st New York Infantry

The Glorious Dead

Letters from the 23rd Illinois Infantry, the 111th Pennsylvania Infantry, the 64th New York Infantry, and the 14th Pennsylvania Cavalry

Cornelius Van Houten

1st New Jersey Light Artillery

Letters of Charley Howe

36th Massachusetts Volunteers

Sgt. Major Fayette Lacey

Co. B, 37th Illinois Volunteers

"These few lines"

the pocket memorandum of Alexander C. Taggart

The Civil War Letters of Will Dunn

Co. F, 62nd Pennsylvania Volunteers

Henry McGrath Cannon

Co. A, 124th New York Infantry & Co. B, 16th New York Cavalry

Civil War Letters of Frederick Warren Holmes

Co. H, 77th Illinois Volunteers

"Though distant lands between us be"

Civil War Letters of Monroe McCollister, Co. B, 6th OVC

"Tell her to keep good heart"

Civil War Letters of Nelson Statler, 211th PA

Building Bluemont

The Origin of Bluemont Central College

"May Heaven Protect You"

14th Connecticut drummer boy's war-time correspondence with his mother

Moreau Forrest

Lt. Commander in the US Navy during the Civil War

Diary of the 29th Massachusetts Infantry

Fighting with the Irish Brigade during the Peninsula Campaign

"Till this unholy rebellion is crushed"

Letters of Dory & Morty Longwood, 7th Indiana

"I Go With Good Courage"

The Civil War Letters of Henry Clay Long, 11th Maine Infantry

"This is a dreadful war"

The Civil War Letters of Jacob Bauer, 16th Connecticut, & his wife Emily

Spared & Shared 16

Saving History One Letter at a Time

Lloyd Willis Manning Letters

3rd Massachusetts Heavy Artillery, Co. I

The Yankee Volunteer

A Virtual Archive of Civil War Likenesses collected by Dave Morin

William Henry Jordan

Co. K, 7th Rhode Island Infantry

No Cause to Blush

The Bancroft Collection of Civil War Letters

William A. Bartlett Civil War Letters

Company D, 37th Massachusetts Infantry

The John Hughes Collection

A Virtual Archive of his Letters, 1858-1869

The Civil War Letters of Rufus P. Staniels

Co. H, 13th New Hampshire Volunteers